The first transatlantic submarine cable system, TAT-1, went into service on 25 September 1956. From then on, there have been the TAT series of transatlantic submarine cable systems, until the latest one TAT-14.

The TAT-8 is the first transatlantic fiber-optic submarine cable, constructed in 1988, connecting the United States, the United Kingdom and France. The TAT-8 cable system contained two working fiber pairs and one fiber pair reserved as a spare. The signal on each optical fiber was modulated at 295.6 Mbit/s (carrying 20 Mbit/s of traffic).

Currently, all of the TAT series of submarine cable systems have been out of service, the latest TAT-14 cable system retired on December 15, 2020.

List of transatlantic cables connecting Amercia and Europe. 

System   RFS  Retire
Atlantic Crossing 1 (AC-1 1998  
Columbus III 1999  
Atlantic Crossing 1 (AC-2 2000  
Yellow /AC-2 2000   
TAT-14 2001  2020
Flag Atlantic 1 (FA-1) 2001   
GTT Atlantic 2001   
TGN Atlantic 2001   
Apollo 2003   
GTT Express 2015   
AEC-1 2016   
MAREA 2018   
AEC-2/Havfrue 2020   
Dunant 2021   
Grace Hopper 2022   
Amitié/AEC-3 2022   
Anjana  2024  
Nuvem 2026