The Asia Pacific Cable Network 2 (APCN-2) is a consortium Intra-Asia submarine cable system linking Japan, Korea, China, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Philippines, Malaysia, and Singapore in a ring configuration. The APCN-2 consists of four fiber pairs stretching 19000 km, initially designed with 64x10Gbps DWDM over each fiber pair.

The APCN-2 is the first submarine cable system that has a self-healing function in the Asia Region.


Cable System:

  • Asia Pacific Cable Network 2, or APCN-2

Cable Length:

  • 19,000 Km

Design Capacity:

    • 2.56 Tbps
    • 4 fiber pairs, each of 64x10 Gbps DWDM
    • upgrade to 40 Gbps DWDM in September 2011

Lit Capacity:

  • 80 Gbps (as of RFS in Dec. 2001)
  • 160 Gbps (first upgrade in 2002)
  • 280 Gbps (2nd upgrade in 2006)

Ready for Service Date:

  • December 20, 2000

Investment Type:

  • Consortium


  • The APCN-2 consortium members consist of 45 carriers in Asia Pacific region, including following 26 initial parties:
KDD (Japan)
Advantel(Hong Kong)
Chunghwa Telecom (Taiwan)
C&W Global Network (Ireland)
KPN (Netherlands)
Metromedia Fiber Network (USA)
PLDT (Philippines)
Taiwan Fixed Net (Taiwan)
Telecom Malaysia (Malaysia)
NTT Communications (Japan)
China Telecom (China)
Concert (Bermuda)
Global One (Japan)
Layer 2 Communications (British Virgin Is.)
New Century Infocomm Co. (Taiwan)
Singapore Telecom (Singapore)
Teleglobe (United States)
Williams Communications (USA)
Japan Telecom (Japan)
China Unicom (China)
C&W HKT (Hong Kong)
Korea Telecom (Korea)
MCII (United States)
OneLink Cable Network (Hong Kong)
Starhub (Singapore)
Telstra Global Networks (Bermuda)

Initial Investment:

  • US$ 1 billion (US$ 800 million for system supply)

Landing Stations:


APCN-2 Submarine Cable Map:

APCN-2 Cable Map