The Europe India Gateway (EIG) was ready for service in February 2011, spanning 15,000km linking 12 countries across 3 continents. 

The EIG cable system lands in the following countries:

  • the United Kingdom,
  • Portugal,
  • Gibraltar,
  • Monaco,
  • France,
  • Libya,
  • Egypt,
  • Saudi Arabia,
  • Djibouti,
  • Oman,
  • United Arab Emirates, and
  • India.

The EIG cable system connectivity comprises:

  • one fiber pair Express trunk, from London to Mumbai, India, via Tajourah (Libya), Egypt.
  • one fiber pair Omnibus link, from London to Mumbai and connecting all the cable landing stations throught branching units.
  • one fiber pair regional link, only in some specific segments. 

Europe India Gateway (EIG) Cable System Connectivity