In 2007, the Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA) declared three submarine cable protection zones in Australian waters over submarine cables of national significance, including:

  • the Submarine Cable Northern Sydney Protection Zone extending from Narrabeen beach to 40 nautical miles off shore covering northern branches of the Australia Japan Cable and Southern Cross cable, including the area between these two cables; and
  • the Submarine Cable Southern Sydney Protection Zone extending from Tamarama and Clovelly beaches and extending 30 nautical miles off shore covering the southern branches of the Australia Japan Cable and Southern Cross cables, including the area between these two cables.
  • the Submarine Cable Perth Protection Zone stretching from City Beach, near Perth, to 51 nautical miles offshore (that is, to a water depth of 2000 metres) for the protection of the SEA-ME-WE 3 (SWM3).

Most of submarine cables connecting Australia land within the submarine cable protection zones in Northern Sydney, Southern Sydney and Perth.

Additionally, the government authority of the Sunshine Coast Council launched Sunshine Coast International Broadband Submarine Cable network, and built a government-owned submarine cable landing station in Sunshine Coast, Queensland.


Submarine Cables land in Sydney:


Submarine Cables land in Perth:


Submarine Cable lands in Sunshine Coast:

American Samoa is an unincorporated territory of the United States located in the South Pacific Ocean, southeast of the sovereign state of Samoa (formerly known as Western Samoa).  The 2000 census showed a total population of 57,291 people. The total land area is 76.1 square miles (197.1 km2). American Samoa is the southernmost territory of the United States.

There is one international fiber optic cable between American Samoa, Samoa and Hawaii, the ASH/SAS Cable,  and connects America Samoa to the existing global telecommunications infrastructure networks.

The ASH/SAS Cable lands at the Pago Pago Cable Landing Station.

Samoa, officially the Independent State of Samoa, formerly known as Western Samoa and German Samoa, is a country encompassing the western part of the Samoan Islands in the South Pacific Ocean. It became independent from New Zealand in 1962. The two main islands of Samoa are Upolu and one of the biggest islands in Polynesia, Savai'i. The capital city, Apia, and Faleolo International Airport are situated on the island of Upolu.

Samoa is connected into the global submarine networks with the Samoa American Samoa Cable (SAS Cable), and onward connectivity with the American Samoa Hawaii Cable (ASH Cable).

The ASH/SAS Cable lands at the Apia Cable Landing Station.

French Polynesia is an overseas collectivity or constituent country of the French Republic. It is made up of several groups of Polynesian islands, the most famous island being Tahiti in the Society Islands group, which is also the most populous island and the seat of the capital of the territory (Papeete).

There are several cable landing stations in French Polynesia, including Vaitape, Uturoa, Huahine, Moorea and Papenoo cable landing stations.

The Papenoo Cable Landing Station in Tahiti island is the cable landing station for the Honotua submarine cable connecting French Polynesia and Hawaii, with onward connectivity to link French Polynesia with global submarine networks.

There are now three international submarine cable connecting New Zealand to the world.

The Southern Cross Cable Network (SCCN) made the first international submarine connection in New Zealand, followed by Tasman Global Access (TGA) and Hawaiki Cable. And the Southern Cross Next will connect New Zealand soon. Additionally, there is domestic submairne cable, the Aqualink cable system.



It is currently one international submarine cable linking Papua New Guinea, i.e., the PPC-1 cable landing at the Madang Cable Landing Station in Papua New Guinea.

The Southern Cross Cable Network is currently the only one international submarine cable landing in Fiji, and lands at the Suva Cable Landing Station in Viti Levu Island of Fiji.