The AAG cable system (Asia-America Gateway) is the first transpacific submarine cable system linking South East Asia directly with the USA, provides connectivity between Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei Darussalam, Vietnam, Hong Kong SAR, Philippines, Guam, Hawaii and the US West Coast. The AAG cable system has significant advantages over the traditional trans-Pacific routes (via the North Pacific) as it avoids the areas most prone to seismic activity off the Taiwan region, which have previously resulted in damage to undersea cables and network disruptions. The AAG submarine cable system was ready for service on Nov. 10, 2009.

Cable System:

AAG, Asia-America Gateway

Cable Length:

20,000 Km (20,191 Km)

  • US Mainland - Hawaii: 4228 Km, 3 fiber pairs
  • Hawaii - Hong Kong: 10,728 Km, 2 fiber pairs
  • Hong Kong - South East Asia spurs: 5,235 Km, 3 fiber pairs

Initial Design Capacity: with 96*10G DWDM technology

  • US Mainland - Hawaii: 2.88 Tbps  
  • Hawaii - Hong Kong: 1.92 Tbps, 
  • Hong Kong - South East Asia: 2.88 Tbps

Lit Capacity:

Ready for Service Date:

  • Nov. 10, 2009

Investment Type:

  • Consortium

Initial Investment:

  • US$ 560 million


AAG consortium consists of 19 parties, including:

  • AT&T, USA
  • AiTi, Brunei Darussalam
  • Telcotech, Cambodia
  • Reach, Hong Kong
  • Bharti, India
  • Telkom Indonesia, Indonesia
  • PT Indosat, Indonesia
  • Telekom Malaysia, Malaysia
  • BayanTel, Philippines
  • ETPI, Philippines
  • PLDT, Philippines
  • StarHub, Singapore
  • CAT Telecom, Thailand
  • Saigon Postal Corporation,Vietnam
  • Viettel, Vietnam
  • Vietnam Posts and Telecommunications Group, Vietnam
  • Telstra, Australia
  • Telecom New Zealand, New Zealand
  • British Telecom Global Network Services, UK

Landing Stations:



AAG Cable Map:

AAG Cable Map