feed-image RSS Feed

Asia-Europe-Africa Submarine Cable Systems


  • FLAG


  • SEA-ME-WE 4

    SEA-ME-WE 4



  • SEA-ME-WE 3

    SEA-ME-WE 3

  • EASSy


  • SAFE


  • RJK

    RJK (Russia-Japan-Korea) is a submarine cable system linking Russia, Japan and Korea. The RJK cable consists of two fiber pairs, stretches of 1762 Km, with three cable landing station:

    The RJK cable system was designed with 560 Mbps PDH system over each fiber pair. The RJK cable system began operation in January 1995.

  • RJCN

    The RJCN (or Russia-Japan Cable Network) is a 1800-km submarine cable system with diverse cable routes connecting Japan and Russia, with a design capacity of 640 Gbps. The RJCN was ready for service on September 5 2008. By interconnecting with the Transit Europe Asia (TEA) terrestrial cable, the RJCN and the TEA can offer the shortest latency (approximately 196 ms) between Tokyo and London. And 10 Gbps transparent wavelength is available on the RJCN and TEA route.

  • HSCS

    The Hokkaido-Sakhalin Cable System (HSCS) is a undersea cable system between Ishikari, Hokkaido in Japan and Nevelsk, Sakhalin in Russia, jointly built by TTK and NTT. The HSCS has a design capacity of 640 Gbps, with a total cable length of 500 km. And the HSCS was ready for service on July 3, 2008. With the seamless combination of the HSCS and the Europe-Russia-Asia (ERA), a trans-Russia terrestrial backbone of TTK, NTT and TTK can offer an alternative and low latency route for the traffic between Asia and Europe.

  • EIG

    Europe India Gateway


    IMEWE ( India-Middle East-Western Europe) submarine cable is an ultra high capacity fiber optic submarine cable system which links India & Europe via Middle

  • TGN-EA

    TGN Eurasia Cable System is a submarine cable linking Mumbai directly to Paris, London and Madrid via Egypt.

  • MENA

    Middle East North Africa (MENA) is a submarine communications cable system that is planned to connect Italy, Greece, Egypt, Saudi Arabia, Oman, and India. It will be about 8,000 kilometres long.It is planned to be capable of delivering up to 5.7 terabits per second.

  • TEA

    The TEA (Transit Europe-Asia) is a terrestrial cable network between Europe and Asia via the territory of Russia, with its Russian segment running over Rostelecom's DWDM network. The Asian segment of the TEA terrestrial cable network may run over:

    • the territory of China via cross border interconnections between Rostelecom and its Chinese partners (China Telecom and China Unicom; or 
    • the territory of Japan via the Russia-Japan Submarine Cable Network (RJCN) constructed by Rostelecom and KDDI; or
    • terrestrial cable between Russia and Kazakhstan reaching Central Asia countries.

    The TEA terrestrial cable network enables a short latency and stable solution for traffic transiting Europe and Asia.

    The TEA terrestrial cable network is a meaningful alternative to the mainly US centric trans-Pacific cable systems in connecting internet networks between Europe and Asia. 

  • GBI

    The GBI (Gulf Bridge International) is a private submarine cable system connecting the Gulf countries together and provide onward connectivity to the rest of the world.

    The GBI Cable System is designed with a self-healing core ring in the Gulf, with double cable landings at the major terminals of Qatar and Fujairah (UAE) and branched landings in Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia and Bahrain, Oman, and onward connectivity to landing in India and Europe as well.

    The GBI Cable System is the first submarine cable landing in Iraq, with a cable landing station in Al Faw.

    The GBI Cable System is privately owned by Gulf Bridge International, established in December 2008 with an initial investment of $445 million.

    The GBI Cable System was launched in Feb. 2012, connecting the world to the Gulf.

  • AAE-1

    Asia-Africa-Europe 1 (AAE-1) is a 25,000km submarine cable from South East Asia to Europe across Egypt, connecting Hong Kong, Vietnam, Cambodia, Malaysia,Singapore, Thailand, India, Pakistan, Oman, UAE, Qatar, Yemen, Djibouti, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Greece, Italy and France.

    The AAE-1 consortium signed the construction and maintenance agreement in Hong Kong on January 27, 2014. The AAE-1 cable construction is due to be completed in 2016.

    The AAE-1 cable is going to open a new era to promote the broadband market across Asia, Africa and Europe. 

  • SEA-ME-WE 5

    The SEA-ME-WE 5 (SMW5) is a 20,000km submarine cable system connecting 17 countries through Points-of-Presence (POPs) from Singapore to the Middle East to France and Italy in Western Europe, with an ultimate system capacity of 24 Tbps.

    The SEA-ME-WE 5 consortium consists of 15 leading telecom operators, including BSCCL, China Mobile International, China Telecom Global, China Unicom, Du, Orange, Myanmar Post and Telecom, Telin, Saudi Telecom, SingTel, Sri Lanka Telecom, Telekom Malaysia, Telecom Italia Sparkle, TOT, and Telecom Yemen. The SMW5 consortium signed the construction and maintenace agreement on March 7, 2014.

    Alcatel-Lucent and NEC were awarded the SMW5 supply contracts, Alcatel-Lucent will supply the segments from Sri Lanka to France, while NEC will supply the Singapore to Sri Lanka segment.

  • G2A

    The Gulf to Africa (G2A) submarine cable system connects Salalah (Oman) to Bosaso (Puntland, Somalia) and Berbera (Somaliland, Somalia).  The G2A Consortium is formed by Omantel (Oman), Telesom (Somaliland, Somalia), Golis (Puntland, Somalia) and Ethio Telecom (Ethiopia).

  • Arctic Fiber

    A 24-terabit-per-second undersea cable will connect Japan and the U.K beneath Arctic waters.